Seven Governors Await Supreme Court Judgement On Their Fate

Supreme Court rules on HDP's case against Buhari

The final verdict on the 2019 election victory of seven governors in Nigeria remains in the balance pending a ruling from the Supreme Court of Nigeria.

The Supreme Court is expected to decide within this month, the governorship election dispute cases involving Governor Ahmadu Fintiri (PDP) – Adamawa State, Governor Bala Mohammed (PDP) – Bauchi State, Governor Samuel Ortom (PDP) – Benue State, Governor Umar Ganduje (APC) – Kano State, Simon Lalong (APC) – Plateau State, Governor Aminu Tambuwal (PDP) – Sokoto State.

Also pending is the case against Imo Governor Emeka Ihedioha (PDP) by the APC candidate, Hope Uzodimma.

There are other appeals by Action Alliance (AA) candidate, Uche Nwosu and the candidate of APGA Ifeanyi Ararume, against Ihedioha’s victory.

From 2019 governorship dispute cases already dispensed by the Supreme Court, the petitions filed against governors of Cross River, Enugu, Gombe, Kebbi and Kwara did not make it to the Supreme Court while the governorship elections in Yobe and Jigawa did not attract any petition.

However, the Kogi State election dispute is still at the tribunal stage as it was held at a later date precisely November 16, 2019.

Governor Umar Fintiri’s victory in Adamawa State is been challenged by Jibrilla Bindow. INEC had declared Fintiri winner of the March 2019 re-run governorship election with 376,552 votes to defeat Bindow who got 336,386 votes.

Bindow is, however, at the tribunal, alleging issues of over-voting and non-compliance with the Electoral Act as well as irregularities.

In Bauchi State, INEC initially declared the election of March 9 inconclusive as Bala Mohammed polled 469,512 votes while Mohammed Abubakar, who was rounding up his first term scored, 465, 453 votes. After several legal battles, INEC was able to conclude the process and declared Mohammed as the winner.

The PDP governorship candidate in Kano State, Abba Kabir Yusuf is challenging the victory of Gov. Umar Ganduje of the APC.

Yusuf was leading the Kano polls with 1,014,353 votes against Ganduje’s 987,829 votes before the election was declared inconclusive.

However, the table turned during the rerun and Ganduje was declared winner for a second term in office as Kano State Governor.

Governor Aminu Tambuwal of Sokoto State narrowly defeated his closest challenger in the 2019 election polling 512,002 votes as against 511,661 votes by APC’s Aliyu.

This was after the collation was declared inconclusive on March 9, 2019, forcing a re-run on March 23, 2019 during which Tambuwal was returned as winner.

So far, the APC controls 20 states, PDP 15 and APGA 1.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous post British MPs Set To Deliver Brexit Deal
Next post [MUSIC] Lyrical Chef – Shakara